It happened; It’s All That Matters

.
Most times we hold back from something beautiful because we fear what will come of us when we finally have to let go.

You’ve ever met that one person with whom you have such a genuine connection, like your hearts and souls have known each other for eternity? You relate with them so effortlessly, your conversations flow so freely and there are no awkward silent moments between the two of you because when your lips stop moving your hearts are still in sync?

I have that person.

And when I realised what this really is, fear crept in.

Nothing lasts forever. One day the conversations will stop. The phone will not beep with their texts, or their names appear on my call log. One day, all this will just be a memory, a story in my heart, a song in the threshold of my soul.

One day I will be faced with the excruciating task of letting go of something I had cultured myself to so tightly hold on to.

So what do I do? Do I let my fear rule? Do I distance myself, loosen my grip on the butterflies and resort to just watching them from a distance? Will this be a show of strength or weakness?

When you try to protect your heart, is it ‘bravo!’ or is it ‘shame on you coward’ ?

I might be wrong. Maybe this will never end. Maybe this friendship is meant to be, blessed by the heavens and placed on earth to bloom.

Maybe this, this thing I fear, IS IT!

We can never protect our hearts enough. You don’t push away something good, something so beautiful because you fear.

What are we here for, if it is not to love and be broken, to heal and love again?

Whether it lasts or not is not the matter. The matter is, IT HAPPENED.

And we will rejoice and be glad.

8 thoughts on “It happened; It’s All That Matters

  1. wow!! I have stumbled upon your blog today Lovine and i’m now thanking the heavens for bringing me here. You write so simply and honestly!! I’ve been scrolling piece after piece continously. Keep on writing and i for sure will keep on coming back.
    Simply amazing!!

  2. Interesting post Lovine. Nice observation. Just got me thinking isn’t it funny we pray to God for a good thing all the time and when it finally shows up our first instinct as humans is to run to the door? What if they always rem to call, what if their texts keep on coming, what if you two always find little stupid things to giggle about, what if they always find a way to put a smile on your face, what if they ever have their hands stretched out to pick you when you fall, what if they are the ones who will always bring you out of your worst nightmares??

    The glass is not always half empty you know..

    • thankyou so much for this. Shedding even more light on the complexity of our nature as human beings, that is why I think we are all here to risk our hearts, no matter how many its broken, we still need to take the risk once again.

Leave a Reply

